General Education

What do we do?

Berrien RESA’s General Education Department coordinates and supports the implementation of evidence-informed programs and services in schools throughout the county.  Relevant supports are identified and provided through collaboration and continuous improvement plans.  

The General Education Department supports a variety of areas, including literacy and mathematics instruction, faculty and staff professional development, state and federal programs and continuous improvement facilitation.

We are here for YOU!

  • Customized consultation and coaching
  • Curriculum development/alignment
  • Continuous improvement strategies
  • Assessment assistance
  • Multi-tiered systems of support integration
  • State and federal program guidance (English language support)
  • Evidence-based instructional practices

Why do we do it?

  • Students are our “why”.
  • Support of the whole child is vital to learning.
  • Equitable access to evidence-informed instruction is a right of each and every student.
  • Evidence-informed research drives best instructional practice.
  • Relationships impact culture, engagement and learning.
  • Trust and collaboration supports growth and builds strong practice.
  • Aligned and integrated systems support students, strengthen schools and help build entire communities where learning happens.

Download our General Education brochure.

What has been the feedback?

Website quotes about General Ed. Dept.

Contact Information

Tel:  269-471-7725 
Fax: 269-471-9731

Cyndi Ursprung  
Cyndi Ursprung
Director of General Education
Ext. 1343
cyndi.ursprung@berrienresa.org

Joe Elsheikhi
Joe Elsheikhi
Math Consultant
Ext. 1230
joe.elsheikhi@berrienresa.org

Sue Kruck
Sue Kruck
SCECH Coordinator / Secretary
Ext. 1116
sue.kruck@berrienresa.org

Amanda Lezotte
Amanda Lezotte
School Improvement Facilitator
Ext. 1256
amanda.lezotte@berrienresa.org

Chris Martin
Christina Martin
English Language Arts Consultant
Ext. 1109
chris.martin@berrienresa.org

Rebecca Miles
Rebecca Miles
Early Literacy Consultant
Ext. 1316
rebecca.miles@berrienresa.org

Kerry Mindeman
Kerry Mindeman
Early Literacy Consultant
Ext. 1138
kerry.mindeman@berrienresa.org

Lisa Pattison
Lisa Pattison
State / Federal Program Consultant
Ext. 1134
lisa.pattison@berrienresa.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.